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	<title>Vertical Construction</title>
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	<description>Vertical Construction - Rising Above</description>
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		<title>Vertical Construction: Part 3 of 12</title>
		<link>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/vertical-construction-part-3-of-12/</link>
		<comments>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/vertical-construction-part-3-of-12/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 30 Apr 2012 22:27:23 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Nolan Borden</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Blog]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[best practices]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[construction industry]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[general contractor]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[increase profits]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[vertical construction]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.verticalconstruction.com/?p=348</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Have you noticed the construction business is a lot like the circus? You spend your days juggling, taming lions, fire eating, sword swallowing, getting shot out of a cannon, walking tight ropes, dealing with clowns, cleaning up after the elephants and working with monkeys. With today&#8217;s pressure to do more with less, how can you [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Have you noticed the construction business is a lot like the circus? You spend your days juggling, taming lions, fire eating, sword swallowing, getting shot out of a cannon, walking tight ropes, dealing with clowns, cleaning up after the elephants and working with monkeys.</p>
<p>With today&#8217;s pressure to do more with less, how can you get it all done? Where do you start?  Using technology and computers, creating a website, training, finding good help, getting paid, dealing with customers, getting bids out, keeping up-to-date with code, chasing lien releases, dealing with government regulations, handling cash-flow and payroll, ordering materials, meeting with subcontractors, negotiating contracts, checking field measurements, coordinating crews and keeping jobs on schedule. How do you get it all done and still have time to focus on your priorities?</p>
<p>The year was 1985 and I was trying to get my business to work. I had six people on my management team, ten project managers, twenty-five field superintendents, and seventy-five men on our tilt-up concrete crews. My goal was to have a profitable company run by my employees. But I was still trying to do too much myself and make every important decision. I continued to work with my estimators on every bid, presented every proposal, attended every job meeting, supervised every concrete pour and was too involved in every aspect of our business. I even got involved in the little decisions like purchasing office equipment, hiring, firing, tools, change orders and buying coffee for the office staff. Sound familiar?</p>
<h2>Is It Easier to Do It Yourself?</h2>
<p>No matter how hard I tried to let go and delegate, I just couldn&#8217;t. It was easier to do it all myself than to trust my people. My actions drove me nuts and my employees crazy. It became difficult to get good people to stay at our company as I was micro-managing and trying to control their every move.</p>
<p>One evening I took my family for a &#8220;happy&#8221; meal at McDonalds. I noticed the boss wasn&#8217;t there, the employees were teenagers, customers were happy and the food was consistent and relatively edible. I thought: &#8220;How do they do it without the owner supervising and making every decision?&#8221; I asked a server to show me their secret. He took me behind the counter where they have pictures clearly displaying how to build hamburgers and other menu items.</p>
<h2>Good People or Good Systems?</h2>
<p>Wow! A huge company runs smoothly using simple pictures of the finished product. This guarantees consistent quality. Plus the owner doesn&#8217;t have to be on-site all the time supervising the construction of every customer&#8217;s order. If McDonalds could do this in their company, why couldn&#8217;t I do it in mine and build an organized and systemized operation. Systems would reduce my dependence on finding great people.</p>
<h2>Systems Are the Key!</h2>
<p>I started to understand and realize that systems are the key to building an excellent company. A disorganized company controlled by the owner will never become excellent. Systems allow you to produce the same results on every project every time. Systems will get everyone doing business the same way. You won&#8217;t have one superintendent handling change orders one way and another doing them differently. Systems will insure little things are taken care of without you reminding people to do them the way you want them done. Systems will allow you to focus on the important tasks that will make you the most money. Systems allow you to deliver consistent results to your bottom-line and your customer&#8217;s project requirements every time without you being there and making every decision for your people.</p>
<p>As a construction business owner, you want to count on the same things every time on every job. You don&#8217;t want to rely on great people to remember what you tell them to do. Whether it&#8217;s pulling rebar into the center of a slab during a concrete pour, starting a project correctly, or handling change orders or timecards properly, you want everyone on your crews and in the office doing things the same way in your company. Systems are the only solution to get your company where you want it to be.</p>
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<h2>Keep Systems Simple!</h2>
<p>I noticed excellent companies have simple systems. For example, at hotels, all rooms always look the same when ready to occupy. How do they do this? Simple. The supervisors explain during their training sessions what is expected to the housekeepers by displaying a clear picture of a finished and ready room. They don&#8217;t care how the final result is accomplished, just that the room is perfect when completed. This simple approach can be applied to every part of your business.</p>
<p>As I comprehended this concept, my personal goal became to replace myself with systems. I finally realized that great people, excellent estimators, fantastic superintendents or great project managers were not going to make my company perform the way I wanted it to. Why? When your company is not organized or systemized, your company is constantly out-of-control and relies on you to put out all the fires and make all the decisions. Your great people can&#8217;t deliver without you telling them what and how to accomplish things. In this condition, you spend full-time running around handling problems and directing traffic. Solid and simple systems are the only answer to building an excellent company that&#8217;s not dependent on you making everything happen smoothly.</p>
<h2>Why Systems?</h2>
<p>How much money are you losing by relying on your people to do their best and not following company installation and operational standards? Create systems to:</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<ol>
<li>    Produce the same results every time</li>
<li>    Meet customer expectations</li>
<li>    Consistent performance</li>
<li>    Be organized and in control</li>
<li>    Eliminate field problems</li>
<li>    Increase quality workmanship</li>
<li>    Improve safety</li>
<li>    Finish projects on-time</li>
<li>    Increase profitability</li>
<li>    Maximize return on time</li>
</ol>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<h2>Perfect Systems Produce Perfect Results</h2>
<p>With systems in place, monitored and trained, you free up time to concentrate on real business growth opportunities like converting repeat customers into loyal customers, seeking business joint ventures, looking for ways to maximize your bottom-line profits, motivating and inspiring your key people and finding time to enjoy the benefits of business ownership.</p>
<p>For example, as a tilt-up concrete contractor we pour hollow metal door frames into the exterior concrete wall panels. At one point, several months after the doors were installed, the frames were sometimes discovered kinked and the doors didn&#8217;t always swing properly. We discovered some foremen were not bracing the frames consistently prior to the concrete pour. The weight of the wet concrete was causing the frames to bend without proper bracing. We were relying on our foremen to know how to install frames. We didn&#8217;t have a company system in place to insure door problems wouldn&#8217;t occur. A simple fix was to create a pre-pour door frame installation and bracing system for everyone to follow. With continual problems like these, we were throwing money out the window fixing problems and running around every jobsite making sure our foremen were installing the frames properly.</p>
<h2>Where Do You Start?</h2>
<p>The problem with getting organized and systemized is where to start. It seems like a monumental task to organize and systemize your company and crews. But to make it happen only takes a commitment of time. I recommend you make a commitment to dedicate four hours a week to systemize your company. Work toward creating a three-ring binder of company systems for every important task performed in your business. In most cases, most of your employees need twenty systems or ways you want the company to always do things consistently. This will eliminate 90 percent of all problems and crises that occur every day. This will free you to spend time on the highest return items.</p>
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<p>Sit down and create categories you want to systemize. Start with the most important areas to your operation. These might include:</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<ul>
<li>    Field operations</li>
<li>    Project management</li>
<li>    Accounting</li>
<li>    Administration</li>
<li>    Estimating</li>
<li>    Marketing</li>
</ul>
<p>Next, take each area and make a list of the top ten or twenty things you want accomplished the same way every time. For example, consider simple things like filling out timecards, installing formwork for concrete foundations, job start-up checklists, pre-project bidding requirements, getting paid promptly, jobsite management, truck and equipment maintenance schedules, tool inventory, crew training or shop drawing submittals and approvals. Your goal is to eventually have an outline for each system on one piece of paper, written or drawn, showing a clear picture of the end result desired to meet your company, customer or project specifications and standards. The best systems are team designed by the people who actually do the work and do it best.</p>
<h2>Create a &#8220;DO&#8221; Manual</h2>
<p>To organize and systemize your company requires time, which will produce consistent results and get everyone doing business the same way. Create a &#8220;DO&#8221; manual of pictures, checklists and guidelines as your company minimum standards and procedures. Build a three-ring binder of standard systems for every aspect of your company and field operations. Focus on the important things first that will make a difference in your bottom-line. Make a goal to create one system a week and you will be very organized in a year.</p>
<h2>7 Steps to Create Systems</h2>
<p>#1) Identify Area to Systemize-Start a &#8220;Fix-It List&#8221; identifying everything you need to fix or systemize in your company. Keep your list handy and as problems occur or things go wrong, write them down. At your weekly or monthly manager and foreman meetings, pick the top priority items you need to fix and make it a goal to create a system for these items. Choose items for each part of your operations so that every part of your business will improve simultaneously. I recommend at least fixing one or two things every week. This will take no more than one or two hours per system to draft a guideline or checklist to implement.</p>
<p>#2) Assign System Team-After choosing a system to create, pick three or four people to work on the company standard. Let them choose a convenient time and location to work together for a few hours. Involve those who actually work within the area being systemized to give input. For example, your team might include a project manager, foreman and journeyman when systemizing a field standard. Let them get together during working hours and draft the company standard of how you do the work task.</p>
<p>#3) Draft Standards and Guidelines-Good systems are simple and use checklists, details, pictures and diagrams of how to accomplish the desired end result for each system. Draft systems on standard size paper and three-hole punch them to insert into your company &#8220;DO&#8221; manual and binder.</p>
<p>#4) Formalize-Assign a staff person to be the keeper of your company systems. Have them meet with each systems team to officially convert the team&#8217;s draft into a formalized company system or standard. After completing the system, distribute them to everyone in your company.</p>
<p>#5) Try It-Let the team who creates a system try it and work out all the bugs for a few weeks before implementing it company wide. Encourage them to recommend changes and improvements to the formalized system so the final system will insure perfect results every time.</p>
<p>#6) Training and Implementation-At regular monthly meetings, have the team who created the system present it to the entire company. Distribute the new systems to the attendees and have the system team show everyone how to do it the company way. Sometimes the best place to train a new installation method is out on the jobsite. The key is to train everyone and insist everyone do the system per the company standard-no exceptions, including yourself. If someone protests, let them put the item back on the &#8220;Fix-It List&#8221; for further revision. If you get dissenters, let them speak their ideas, but insist everyone follow the system. If they still resist, let the dissenters join the system team to modify and revise it to accommodate everyone&#8217;s ideas. Your company &#8220;DO&#8221; manual will become your training manual. Cover every system at least twice a year as part of your ongoing company training program to insure everyone understands and uses the standards.</p>
<p>#7) Follow-Up and Evaluate-After six months, revisit the new systems to insure they are still being used and working well. Review them again and ask for feedback or improvement ideas.</p>
<p>The beauty of systems is you don&#8217;t worry about every detail on every project. Your people will do things the same way-your company way. This allows you to spend your time on important matters as little problems go away. To get started, create a &#8220;Fix-It List&#8221; today and you&#8217;ll be organized sooner than you think. Consider starting with some of these company field systems to improve your quality, schedule and bottom line:</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<ul>
<li>    Job start-up checklist</li>
<li>    Project quality checklist</li>
<li>    Project safety checklist</li>
<li>    Four week look ahead schedule</li>
<li>    Project goals and objectives</li>
<li>    Procurement checklist</li>
<li>    Subcontract scope checklists</li>
<li>    Subcontract tracking log</li>
<li>    Shop drawing and submittal system</li>
<li>    Change order checklist</li>
<li>    Field start-up checklist</li>
<li>    Pre-job field start-up meeting agenda</li>
<li>    Time card procedures</li>
<li>    Field paperwork system</li>
<li>    Weekly field meeting agenda</li>
<li>    Project review system</li>
<li>    Standardized project budget</li>
<li>    Quote comparison spreadsheet</li>
<li>    Request for information log</li>
<li>    Change order logs</li>
<li>    Fast pay checklist</li>
<li>    Weekly team meeting agenda</li>
<li>    Monthly management meeting agenda</li>
<li>    Equipment maintenance checklist</li>
<li>    Truck equipment inventory</li>
<li>    Standardized punch-list</li>
<li>    Job close-out checklist</li>
</ul>
<p>An excellent company does things consistently and is organized. An excellent company doesn&#8217;t rely on the owner to make all the decisions and tell everyone what to do. Systems are the only way to insure excellence as your company grows. Without company systems, your company will only grow as big as you can handle the pressure, people, customers and problems. This will limit your ability to make a profit and get your business to be what you want it to be. Make a commitment to replace yourself with systems and get on the road to entrepreneurial excellence.</p>
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		<title>Vertical Construction: Part 2 of 12</title>
		<link>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/vertical-construction-part-2-of-12/</link>
		<comments>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/vertical-construction-part-2-of-12/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 25 Apr 2012 20:50:33 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Nolan Borden</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Blog]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[construction]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[entrepreneur]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[general contractor]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[profit]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[vertical construction]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.verticalconstruction.com/?p=345</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[If I followed you around for a day, what would I see? What would be your focus? Would you be spending your time on details, scheduling crews, making sure materials are on the jobsite, bidding work, meeting with customers, showing your foreman what to do or completing the job paperwork?  Do these activities make you [...]]]></description>
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<p>If I followed you around for a day, what would I see? What would be your focus? Would you be spending your time on details, scheduling crews, making sure materials are on the jobsite, bidding work, meeting with customers, showing your foreman what to do or completing the job paperwork?  Do these activities make you profitable?</p>
<p>There are two main reasons to own a construction company. One reason is to have an enterprise where you get paid a reasonable sum for the work you do, make a decent living and have the freedom of not reporting to an employer. The other reason to own a business is to make a profit for the time, energy and risk you take.</p>
<p>After I spoke at a national convention, a construction business owner approached me for advice. He said he was over-worked, stressed out, hadn&#8217;t paid himself in months, was having trouble collecting money customers owed him, trying to find time to do the required paperwork and hadn&#8217;t taken a vacation in years. I asked him to tell me his average profit margin, overhead costs, equity, working capital and available line of credit at the bank. He looked at me like I was from another planet. It was obvious he had started his company with little or no money and expected to build a business without the basics in place for growth. It seemed there wasn&#8217;t any hope for him to make a profit as he wasn&#8217;t focused on the most important part of a business-the numbers.</p>
<p>In my last article, I explained step one of the business success blueprint: Build an &#8220;On-Purpose&#8230;On-Target&#8221; Business! Start any journey by figuring out what you want. It was obvious this contractor hadn&#8217;t taken step one and listed out what he wanted his business to do for him and what it would take to make it happen. Step two in building a successful business is to focus on your bottom-line numbers and always make sure you make a profit.</p>
<h2>Are You an Entrepreneur?</h2>
<p>Many small businesses are owned by people who just want to work for themselves and like being in control of every decision and detail of their business. They don&#8217;t delegate much and really don&#8217;t like employees or customers. They like to stay small and don&#8217;t want to grow. These businesses are sole practitioners and may only have a handful of employees and customers. There is nothing wrong with these businesses. But entrepreneurs, on the other hand, are business owners who want to grow their companies and create an organized and systemized business that works for them. The business is employee-run, has loyal customers, makes a robust profit and creates wealth.</p>
<p>What do you think successful and profitable construction company owners and entrepreneurs spend a majority of their time on? They are focused on making and maximizing PROFIT. They learned long ago that details, commitments, hard work, and micro-managing doesn&#8217;t result in profit. Profit is the result of staying focused on making money in everything you and your employees do. Know your numbers, make them a priority and do everything you can to hit your targets. Entrepreneurs know that cash, capital and equity are the lifeblood of their future. This is what I call &#8220;profit-driven.&#8221; Are you profit-driven?</p>
<h2>Profit-Driven Test</h2>
<p>Take this true or false test to determine if you are profit-driven:</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<ol>
<li>    I know the profit targets on every job.</li>
<li>    I know our fixed cost of doing business.</li>
<li>    I know our exact annual overhead costs.</li>
<li>    I know our annual breakeven revenue.</li>
<li>    I know our net profit year-to-date.</li>
<li>    I know our annual gross profit goal.</li>
</ol>
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<ol>
<li>    I know our annual net profit goal.</li>
<li>    I know how much cash we have in the bank.</li>
<li>    I know what our company working capital is.</li>
<li>    I know what our company equity is.</li>
<li>    I know our annual equity growth goal.</li>
<li>    I know what our current receivables are.</li>
<li>    I know what our backlog is.</li>
<li>    I know what our total debt is.</li>
<li>    I know our projected monthly cash-flow.</li>
<li>    I know what our equipment costs are.</li>
<li>    I know our average gross profit on every job.</li>
<li>    I know what a good profit margin should be.</li>
<li>    I know the difference between gross profit and markup.</li>
<li>    I know how to maximize our bottom-line profit.</li>
</ol>
<p>How did you do? Do you have any false answers? Profit-driven business owners, entrepreneurs and managers usually have at least fifteen true answers out of these twenty questions. People who have less than ten true answers are not focused on making a profit. Their priorities are on surviving, keeping busy, getting the work done and then getting more work with which to pay their bills.</p>
<p>You can&#8217;t get your business to grow without making a profit. Profit allows you to build a company. The more profit, the faster you can grow. Profit allows you to invest in people, systems, equipment, training, customer service and technology. Without a good profit margin, your business struggles and can&#8217;t get moving toward achieving your business goals.</p>
<h2>Are You Volume-Driven?</h2>
<p>Many construction businesses focus on volume and staying busy. They go for more work instead of profitable work. They take what comes in the door and compete against too many cheap competitors who don&#8217;t know how to make a profit. They don&#8217;t offer anything different than their competitors, so they have to sell low price. This causes them to take on more work at too low a margin to cover their costs. More volume is addictive and keeps you on the treadmill going nowhere. And this eventually results in not enough profit to sustain business growth. I am not impressed with company owners who brag about how busy or how big they are. I want to know how much profit they are making! Your goal is not to be busy. Your goal is to make a HUGE profit!</p>
<p>The CEO&#8217;s of major Fortune 500 companies are focused. They get judged on only two indicators of success. They live and die on their stock price or company value and quarterly earnings or net profit. Do you think like a CEO? Are you focused on increasing the value of your company and always making a profit? Do you make your people accountable to hit their numbers? Do you know your numbers and what it takes to make a profit? Do you look for customers, markets and projects where you can make HUGE profits?</p>
<h2>What is Your Top Priority?</h2>
<p>Profit-driven business owners and managers know what they want. They want to make a big profit, and to reach that end, making money must be your top priority. You need precise profit targets and clear goals for your people, projects and customers. Shoot for a specific return on equity and a return on your energy invested. Identify the type of projects at which you excel, the market in which you flourish, the maximum and minimum job sizes you best manage and your own capacity. Decide when to say &#8220;Yes!&#8221; and more importantly, when to say &#8220;No!&#8221;  That is a key to being profit-driven.</p>
<p>For my first ten years in business, I was focused on getting work and getting it done. I grew my business fast and made an average profit. My focus was on sales and customer relationships-not a bad thing on which to focus. But my profit margin was only 1 or 2 percent pre-tax net profit-the national average for construction companies. After fifteen years, I finally took a hard look at my bottom-line results. I realized this profit margin was too low for the risk I was taking. At that low profit rate, I would never be able to get my business where I wanted it to be. I was stuck in a rut. I decided I had to work differently to make a HUGE PROFIT and get what I wanted: a business that works without me, loyal customers, equity, wealth, contribution to others and freedom.</p>
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<p>By changing our focus to achieving what I wanted and making HUGE profits, our company has made drastic changes in the way we do business, and as a result, lots of money. We now make 500 percent more net profit than we did doing business the same way we had for years.</p>
<p>A graduate of my &#8216;Profit-Builder Circle&#8217; roundtable program just wrote me this great testimonial:</p>
<p>&#8220;I wanted to drop a line to let you know-almost three years after having participated in your program-profit, profit, profit. I practice and preach the principal constantly. We&#8217;ve become much more efficient at identifying loser jobs and clients and removing them from our midst. In the last three years we have increased our net profit to $900,000 on $9,500,000 in revenue after capitalizing $350,000 worth of equipment. We paid off $250,000 worth of debt. I paid myself a solid salary, and I&#8217;ve managed to acquire another property, which my company pays for in rent. I&#8217;ve taken at least six weeks a year off. In addition, my kids actually know who I am, and my wife no longer works in the office and is able to be a full-time wife and mother.&#8221;</p>
<h2>What is Profit?</h2>
<p>Profit-driven owners and managers know their numbers. They know what it takes everyday, every month and on every job to make a profit.</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<ul>
<li>    Profit is return for the risk you take in business.</li>
<li>    Profit feeds and supports business growth.</li>
<li>    Profit is a reward for running your business professionally.</li>
<li>    Profit can be split with key employees as an incentive.</li>
<li>    Profit can be used to help you through tough times.</li>
<li>    Profit allows investment in an exciting new venture.</li>
<li>    Profit is the outside indicator of how well your business runs</li>
<li>    Profit shows you how much money your money makes.</li>
<li>    Without profit, your business can&#8217;t thrive and prosper.</li>
</ul>
<p>Profit is financial gain or return from the use of capital in a business. Profit is the sum remaining after all costs-direct and indirect-are deducted from the income of a business. This assumes you have income or revenue and have collected it. Most business owners start their business with capital or a cash investment and still have some left-this is the equity in your business. Equity is also the value your company is worth if it was for sale. Direct costs are your direct job costs or the costs of doing the work you have been contracted to complete. Indirect costs are your fixed costs of doing business, which include your overhead, management, office and administration. Overhead costs continue on whether you have any jobs under construction or not.</p>
<h2>Know Your Numbers!</h2>
<p>Starting with your overhead, you must know what your break-even point is. Most construction companies don&#8217;t reach this point until the final quarter of their fiscal year. What profit do you want to make above the break-even point? Don&#8217;t calculate in percentages. Instead, focus your targets with exact numbers that managers will understand and can hit. For example, at Hedley Construction our gross profit target is $2,000,006 in 2006! With a break-even point (overhead) of $1,000,000, our net profit target is $1,000,006-clear and precise.</p>
<p>Profit-driven owners and managers are competitive. They need targets and score boards. You can&#8217;t win a basketball game without shooting at the basket and keeping score. You can&#8217;t win a golf match without holes and scorecards. You can&#8217;t reach your business goals by trying to work as hard or as fast as possible. What profit targets do your people aim at?</p>
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<p>Make sure each member of your team knows exactly what their target is. For the architect and general contractor, use precise schedules with milestones and deadlines. For the project manager, use exact goals for job cost and profit. For the project administrator, use monthly deadlines for invoices and shop drawing approvals. For the foreman or supervisor, use quality and safety milestones that can be tracked and scored. For subcontractors, use mandatory requirements such as job meetings, inspections, notices and documentation. This is profit-driven in action.</p>
<p>When bidding jobs, can you cut your costs? No! Can you cut your overhead? No! What is the only variable to profitability? The final sales price. Profit-driven owners and managers focus on profitable projects, customers and services. These give you a high return on your assets, time and energy. Profitability starts with sales. Controlling costs, expenses, quality and purchases is easy. Selling is hard. Rather than devoting your time to daily operations, focus at least 25 percent of your time on getting profitable work. Look for profitable project targets, repeat loyal customers and referral opportunities.</p>
<h2>Get Focused on Profit Building!</h2>
<p>What do you want, more volume or more profit? Real men and women go for profit and don&#8217;t care how busy they are. When you&#8217;re too busy, everyone likes you (employees, suppliers, subcontractors, creditors, etc.) except your family and friends. After I decided our company was not in the volume construction business, we skyrocketed to HUGE profits. We are now exclusively in the profit building business. We seek projects, customers, managers and employees who are focused on making us lots of profit. We seek opportunities to increase our equity and build wealth instead of staying busy and competing on price. Is your business focused on your future? If you were an outside investor, would you invest money in your operation? What bottom-line return would you want? I bet it is more than 1 or 2 percent pre-tax net profit.</p>
<h2>21 Profit-Building Steps to Success</h2>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<ol>
<li>    Keep your personal overhead low.</li>
<li>    Pay yourself first a fair salary every month.</li>
<li>    Save 10 to 20 percent of all personal earnings.</li>
<li>    Get out of personal debt now.</li>
<li>    Don&#8217;t spend money before you&#8217;ve made it.</li>
<li>    Invest six months working capital as reserves.</li>
<li>    Get a bank line of credit for emergencies.</li>
<li>    Balance your company budget.</li>
<li>    Only hire the best people and pay them top dollar.</li>
<li>    Always make a profit every month.</li>
<li>    Track sales and backlog every month.</li>
<li>    Track monthly cash flow and profit and loss.</li>
<li>    Track your accounts receivables monthly.</li>
<li>    Delay all purchases except technology for one year.</li>
<li>    Buy your first income property before your second truck.</li>
<li>    Rent equipment as needed until 75 percent is job-charged.</li>
<li>    Get out of business debt.</li>
<li>    Reinvest 50 percent of all profits back into the company.</li>
<li>    Look for outside income producing investments.</li>
<li>    Give back to your community, charity or church.</li>
<li>    Share your wealth with those who helped you.</li>
</ol>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<h2>Fortune or Fame?</h2>
<p>The magic of making lots of profit starts with making lots of money! To build a profitable business takes focus and tough decisions. I am not in business to be liked or famous. I am in business to make a HUGE profit and grow my wealth. When you have a fortune, you can share it and give back to others. You must be the leader and set the example. Focus on making a profit, hold people accountable, delay marginal buying decisions, say &#8220;no&#8221; to tempting jobs that look risky, don&#8217;t let people waste money, let go of your poor performing employees quickly, know and watch your numbers, know your break-even point, watch your cash-flow, seek big profit customers and projects, be firm and tough on suppliers and subcontractors and get those change orders signed. You know what you&#8217;ve got to do to make a profit. Stop the insanity and work differently! No profit equals no future! When profit is your No. 1 business priority, you will be taking the second biggest step toward building an &#8220;On-Purpose&#8230;On-Target&#8221; business and getting your company to work for you.</p>
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		<title>Construction Business Best Practices Series&#8230; Step 1</title>
		<link>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/construction-business-best-practices-series-step-1/</link>
		<comments>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/construction-business-best-practices-series-step-1/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 24 Apr 2012 21:59:34 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Nolan Borden</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Blog]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[best business practices]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[construction]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[finance]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[general contractor]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[vertical construction]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.verticalconstruction.com/?p=339</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The following twelve posts were written by George Hedley, owner of Hedley Construction and HardHat Presentations. He has extensive knowledge in the construction industry and shares his wisdom to others in Construction Business Owner Magazine. Enjoy&#8230; Imagine you owned or managed the perfect construction business. What would it be like? In my perfect business, I [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The following twelve posts were written by George Hedley, owner of Hedley Construction and HardHat Presentations. He has extensive knowledge in the construction industry and shares his wisdom to others in Construction Business Owner Magazine. Enjoy&#8230;</p>
<p>Imagine you owned or managed the perfect construction business.<br />
What would it be like? In my perfect business, I would come into the office two or three days a week; check-in with my managers; review their projects and progress; give them some encouragement and direction; call a few loyal customers and take them to lunch; check on my real estate developments and investments; and make lots of money. Then, spend my free days golfing, sailing, traveling with my wife and all the other fun stuff I like to do! What do you think? Work a little and make a lot!</p>
<p>This is what I call an &#8220;On-Purpose&#8230;On-Target&#8221; business. Your business and your money works for you. You are an owner, not a hands-on, make-every-decision, over-worked and under-paid supervisor and worker.</p>
<h2>What Do Business Owners Want?</h2>
<p>I&#8217;ll tell you what I want-I want my business to give me what I want! I want my business to be:</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<ul>
<li>    100 percent run by my management team</li>
<li>    A great place to work that attracts the best employees</li>
<li>    A company built on long time repeat loyal customers</li>
<li>    A business that makes double the industry average profit</li>
<li>    A company that grows my equity and building wealth</li>
<li>    An environment that creates lots of freedom and fun</li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<h2>What Do You Want?<a href="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/target-2.jpg"><img class="alignright size-medium wp-image-340" src="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/target-2-300x238.jpg" alt="" width="300" height="238" /></a></h2>
<p>You don&#8217;t want a business that barely makes it-struggles, has cash-flow problems, doesn&#8217;t allow you to have any time off and doesn&#8217;t build your net worth. It took me nearly twenty years in business to finally understand. My business is a tool to give me what I want-wealth. Wealth is money and what it does for you. Money gives you time, energy, freedom and funds to use as you want-to help others; to use for your family, your employees or your community. As a business owner, to achieve wealth, you have to build a business that works and eventually creates financial independence. Your money must work for you. You should not be working for enough money to stay alive. Wealth is freedom! It gives you choices and allows you to enjoy your business and personal life.</p>
<p>Most business owners never become &#8220;wealthy&#8221; because they don&#8217;t sit down and clearly write out what they want. But they do know they want something different than they are getting now! So, today you have an opportunity to figure out what you want and then build a business to deliver exactly what you desire.</p>
<h2>The Purpose of Your Business is to Give You What You Want!</h2>
<p>The purpose for your business is not to make you miserable, consume all your time, whine about your employees, hate your customers and have financial stress. Most construction business owners shoot for &#8220;MORE&#8221;-more sales, jobs, customers, profit or more of the same. &#8220;MORE&#8221; is what I call the &#8220;UN-TARGET&#8221;-wanting to be HUGE. The busier you get, the more uncomfortable you are as you get used to being stressed out. This business owner chases bad business, says &#8220;yes&#8221; too often, is too optimistic about the reality of their situation, and has no clear plan or goals.</p>
<p>Successful business owners know what they want and decide what&#8217;s important. Take a few moments to write what you want:</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<ul>
<li>    Personal</li>
<li>    Business</li>
<li>    Financial</li>
<li>    Operational</li>
<li>    Customers, marketing and sales</li>
<li>    People and leadership</li>
<li>    Equity and wealth</li>
<li>    Freedom and fun</li>
</ul>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<h2>The Entrepreneur&#8217;s Journey</h2>
<p>After graduating with a degree in engineering, I worked four years as a civil engineer and construction project manager. Like my father, I had the entrepreneurial spirit and wanted to be my own boss, but I had no clue how to run a business. In 1977, I decided that starting a construction company would be easy-bid cheap and stay busy! At twenty-seven years old, I had four years experience, $2,000 in the bank, just bought my first home and construction was in a recession. Perfect timing to start Hedley Construction! Besides, I already owned all the tools required to be a success in construction-a contractor&#8217;s license; a used orange Datsun pickup truck with 92,000 miles, a metal tool box and lumber rack; a golden lab retriever; a ten gallon ice chest; a big radio; a new hard hat with my name engraved on it; and a thirty foot contractor&#8217;s power lock tape measure.</p>
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<p>Most entrepreneurs start their company without a written business plan. They have a dream to be their own boss and make it on their own. With determination and hard work, they hope to build a &#8220;perfect&#8221; business. But, most don&#8217;t have a written plan, management team, the capital or leadership skills to be successful. When I landed my first construction project, it went well because I was small and did everything myself. It is simple when you have no overhead, no employees, only one project to work on; you make all decisions, supervise all the work, make all the purchases, prepare all the bids and estimates and sign all the contracts.</p>
<p>As your business grows, you work more hours. Cash-flow becomes tighter and you have no extra time. You start getting out of control as your business controls you. You finally give in and hire the most &#8220;experienced&#8221; people you can find-your relatives! Next your finances get out of control, so you hire a bookkeeper. But, since you don&#8217;t know anything about accounting, you are at her mercy and hope she doesn&#8217;t bother you with the numbers, or find out you aren&#8217;t making any money.</p>
<p>The challenges continue to mount-cheap competition, getting paid, unhappy customers, finding trained employees and making a profit. There are too many details, you get bogged down and only have enough time to put out fires. You have to make all the decisions for everyone and keep trying to do it all yourself. You are now officially over-worked and under-paid. If your business goal was to be busy-you&#8217;ve made it! It&#8217;s amazing how busy you can be, being low bidder and selling price. Everyone likes you when you&#8217;re busy-your banker, suppliers, subcontractors and employees. Everyone except your family and friends, and yourself!</p>
<p>You try hiring managers who can run your company for you without problems, stress and you being hands-on. But, you can&#8217;t let go. You can&#8217;t find any good people who are accountable, responsible or will work as hard and as smart as you. People now become a big problem, not the solution. Your business isn&#8217;t working. You&#8217;re totally stressed out and frustrated, your life is out of balance, your business is out-of-control and your company controls every waking moment. Your business is now &#8220;Off-Purpose and Off-Target!&#8221;</p>
<h2>The Entrepreneurial Decision</h2>
<p>At first, it&#8217;s just you. It&#8217;s simple when you do all the work. You do a great job, so you get some referrals and more work. You hire people to do the work. You&#8217;re now in management. Management isn&#8217;t fun when you become the complaint department. What should you do next? You have three choices:</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<ol>
<li>    Go back to doing it all yourself</li>
<li>    Sit and wait for &#8220;it&#8221; to change</li>
<li>    Work different!</li>
</ol>
<p>To build an &#8216;On-Purpose&#8230;On-Target!&#8221; business, you can&#8217;t shrink your company and you can&#8217;t sit and wait for something to happen. Your only choice is to change the way you work. It might seem easier to change your employees, customers, subcontractors or suppliers. But to get what you want, you&#8217;ve got to make the big change and change yourself. Change the way you think, do business, manage, prioritize, work, lead and change how you work and live your life.</p>
<p>The year was 1985 when I finally made a decision to get my business to work for me and without me. I would have to change and implement new ways to run my business. I dedicated four hours a week to working &#8220;on&#8221; my business. You can, too. Commit to get organized, systemized and in-control. Work on setting goals, create budgets and fix things which always go wrong by installing operational systems. Worked with your key managers and delegate nearly everything to them. Set up check and balances for every department and focus on helping your key managers become the best they can be.</p>
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<p>If you were to buy another company, what would you want to know about it? You would ask to see their financials, customer logs, receivables, assets and liabilities and study their competition. I have been in business since 1977, and the number one thing I would want to know before considering buying a company is &#8220;does the business work?&#8221; or &#8220;do I have to do the work?&#8221; I would only want to buy a company that works without the owner doing the work.</p>
<h2>Do You Own a Job?</h2>
<p>The problem with most entrepreneurial companies is the owner plays too big a role in every day operations. Without the owner&#8217;s constant attention and involvement, the company doesn&#8217;t work and wouldn&#8217;t exist. Do you own a business that works without you doing all the work? Do you own a job or a company?</p>
<p>Imagine your business is &#8220;On- Purpose&#8230;On-Target&#8221; and meets your personal objectives. To achieve that goal, you&#8217;ll have to start working on your business to reap the ultimate benefits of business ownership-time, fun, freedom, equity and wealth.</p>
<p>Your current results in profits, people, stress, time and freedom are the number one indicator of your priorities and your attention to customer service, quality workmanship, financial reporting, operational systems, marketing and sales systems, motivating people and visionary leadership. When you&#8217;re not getting what you want from your business, there&#8217;s something wrong. It&#8217;s not your people, subcontractors, suppliers, competition, or customers. It&#8217;s you! Your bottom-line results are the number one indicator of your abilities as the leader of your company.</p>
<h2>The Answer is You!</h2>
<p>Not enough sales? Perhaps your sales systems stink. Not enough repeat customers? Perhaps your customer service stinks. Selling low price? Perhaps you&#8217;re not any better than your competition. Not enough profit? Perhaps your organizational systems stink. Perhaps you don&#8217;t know the difference between an income statement and a balance sheet. Perhaps your priorities aren&#8217;t on people, finances, overhead controls, cash flow or the bottom-line. Or perhaps you don&#8217;t set goals, know how to run a business or think you&#8217;re the problem. Only you are responsible for you, are accountable for you, can make you get what you want and can do what&#8217;s necessary to meet your goals.</p>
<h2>When&#8217;s Your Wake-Up Call?</h2>
<p>You are accountable for how you spend your time, manage, lead, delegate, trust people and train your employees. I finally realized to get the results I wanted in my company, I would have to make some big changes. But it&#8217;s hard to change the way you always works. Eventually you&#8217;ve got to stop saying things like &#8220;trust me, everything is ok&#8221; or &#8220;someday soon I&#8217;ll finally get is right!&#8221; or &#8220;I know my company will work when I get that new estimator or project manager or when we get paid on the big job.&#8221; When is your wake-up call?</p>
<h2>Get In the Opportunity Business</h2>
<p>As I looked at my business, I saw that we were commercial general contractors, selling construction services against too many competitors at too low a profit margin. It seemed all my customers were buying low price. Again, what business are you in? Are you in the construction business or are you in the opportunity business-looking for opportunities to be different than your competition, add more value, provide more services, make double the industry average profits,</p>
<p>develop strategic alliances, leverage your relationships, joint venture, build a great place to work, grow your equity, build wealth or seek investments that don&#8217;t require hands-on management?</p>
<p>To get what you want and be &#8220;On-Purpose&#8230;On-Target,&#8221; you&#8217;ll have to change the way you think about your business. The natural tendency is to continue doing things the same way, work hard, stay busy and try to force it to happen. But remember the purpose for your business is to give you what you want-above average profits, increased equity, new opportunities, wealth and freedom as your business works without you!</p>
<p>To make this happen, I changed our business model from a general contractor to a company that seeks wealth building opportunities and investments. We started asking our customers to joint venture with us on their development projects. We began finding equity and financing sources to build real estate projects for our own account. I brought on a partner who was knowledgeable in new markets. I gave up our bad customers who shopped price. We changed our business goals from more sales volume and increasing our profit margin to growing our equity, building wealth and creating more time to enjoy the benefits of our investments.</p>
<h2>Take the First Step</h2>
<p>What will you do different to get what you want? You can get your business to work. Envision what you want and how you can get your business to work without you. Decide what you&#8217;ll have to do with your people, customers, project types, money and time. An &#8220;On-Purpose&#8230;On-Target&#8221; business meets your business and personal goals. Step one is to figure out exactly what you want. Then you can make the changes necessary to make it happen. We will explore Step 2-Build a Profitable Business-in the next article of this series. For now, take the first step and make a detailed list of what a perfect business would be for you.</p>
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		<title>Competitive Advantage</title>
		<link>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/competitive-advantage/</link>
		<comments>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/competitive-advantage/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 04 Apr 2012 22:50:06 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Nolan Borden</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Blog]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cheating]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[competitive advantage]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[construction]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[general contractor]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[vertical construction]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.verticalconstruction.com/?p=335</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The following article is a good read I found on enr.com. Take a look&#8230; &#160; I recently overheard a contractor bragging about how he could gain a cost advantage over his competition. It caught my attention, so I listened. It seems that in his bidding practices, the contractor priced materials and equipment that were not [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The following article is a good read I found on enr.com. Take a look&#8230;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>I recently overheard a contractor bragging about how he could gain a cost advantage over his competition. It caught my attention, so I listened.</p>
<p>It seems that in his bidding practices, the contractor priced materials and equipment that were not approved in the specifications. To avoid giving away the bidding advantage to his competitors, the contractor decided not to request these items to be approved in the bidding period. After he was designated the low bidder, the contractor planned to press for the materials to be substituted for the specified items.</p>
<p>A few things come to mind. First, this contractor was not bidding on the project scope the owner wanted. If you assume the owner is knowledgeable, the materials and equipment were selected for a specific reason. Therefore, the bid without approved substitutions is subverting the owner&#8217;s intent and the designers&#8217; specifications.</p>
<p>Second, there is customarily a provision in the bid documents stating that substitution requests must be submitted prior to the bid so that the materials can be evaluated. If a substitute is determined to be an equivalent, then all bidders are notified. This tactic allows the competition to bid based on the same knowledge and enables the owner to decide on the best pricing or most suitable contractor based on the same scope of work.</p>
<p>Companies that use the bid approach about which the contractor boasted will cost the owner more money in the long run. Bidders that short-circuit the specifications are taking something of value from the owner. If the owner wants to use Product X to meet Specification Y, that is the owner&#8217;s decision.</p>
<p>If contractors want a substitute product to be considered, there is a mechanism to get that done; however, shrinking bid periods, pride of authorship and other factors cause project members to ignore the mechanism. In fact, many owners don&#8217;t realize the bid period is the most cost-effective time to allow for substitutions. When the mechanism is used, the contractor can re-approach, after the bid, the designer and owner about the substitution.</p>
<p>Cheating on the specified materials and quality of work is not a competitive advantage. It&#8217;s cheating.</p>
<p>Competitive advantage resides in the means and methods used to achieve the results the owner and architect or engineer have set out in the plans and specifications. Generally speaking, the contractors—and their estimators and project management personnel—are the most knowledgeable people regarding the means and methods on any given project.</p>
<p>During the bid period, if a competitive advantage develops, the smart contractor will price out the customary or conventional process and evaluate it against a so-called unconventional process. If there is a savings to be had, the pricing structure and the contractor&#8217;s bid can reflect this. The contractor may take half the cost difference as a &#8220;risk-reward&#8221; amount to add back to its profit margin.</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
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<td><strong>SHORT</strong></td>
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<p>In my bidding, I have been &#8220;beat&#8217;&#8221; by others using this type of competitive advantage. In one case, the successful bidder used a work week with fewer overtime hours than the number we had anticipated. The successful bidder saved on direct labor cost for each hour and gained in overall productivity. The owner received the same project, specified at a lower cost, than the other bidders would have provided. This competitive advantage comes from innovation, and innovation comes from experience and creative, critical thinking.</p>
<p>Unfortunately, the bid-period mechanism relies on all parties knowing their responsibilities. Not that long ago, contractors had staff estimators and bid managers who knew how to evaluate all subcontractor bids for all disciplines. Estimators knew their obligations by reading the plans and specifications, and management listened. Designers knew how to draw the details of the project, not just refer to a code. Owners knew about the construction process or had a construction manager who did, and construction managers knew how to develop bid packages and proper bidding methods to get the best bids.</p>
<p>From owner to designer to contractor to subcontractor to vendor to everyone else, the whole industry needs to remember that innovation is just a by-product of experience and knowledge. Perhaps innovations are just rediscovered good business practices.</p>
<p><em>Don L. Short II is president of The Tempest Company, which provides estimating, scheduling, project controls, consulting and expert services, including arbitration services. He can be reached at donshort@tempestcompany.com.</em></p>
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		<title>Know Your SWOT!</title>
		<link>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/know-your-swot/</link>
		<comments>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/know-your-swot/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 28 Mar 2012 22:23:30 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Nolan Borden</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Blog]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[general contractor]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[swot analysis]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[vertical construction]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.verticalconstruction.com/?p=329</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The key to survival—whether it be in the &#8220;real&#8221; world or the business world—is to know your SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats). According to the U.S. Small Business Association, roughly 50% of all businesses fail within their first year. There is no shortage of “Top Ten Reasons Why Businesses Fail” lists so I won’t [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><strong>The key to survival—whether it be in the &#8220;real&#8221; world or the business world—is to know your SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats).</strong></p>
<p>According to the U.S. Small Business Association, roughly 50% of all businesses fail within their first year. There is no shortage of “Top Ten Reasons Why Businesses Fail” lists so I won’t go into that here, and I’m sure you could name many of the main culprits—poor management, lack of capitol, insufficient marketing, flawed business plan, etc.—without having to run a search or buy a “How to Succeed in Business” book. What I will talk about is how to avoid the common (and sometimes harder to find) missteps, mistakes, and missed-the-boat opportunities that can determine if your company sinks or swims.<a href="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/swot1-opportunities.png"><img class="alignright size-medium wp-image-330" src="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/swot1-opportunities-300x186.png" alt="" width="300" height="186" /></a></p>
<p>If you’re one of the “lucky” ones who makes it to Day 366, don’t think for a nanosecond that you’re out of the water and are now one of Darwin’s success stories. Far from it. The truth is, your battle for survival has just begun. You’ve figured out how to stand on your own two legs, but now you need to learn how to not get knocked down.</p>
<p>&#8220;In the struggle for survival, the fittest win out at the expense of their rivals because they succeed in adapting themselves best to their environment.&#8221; ~Charles Darwin</p>
<p>No matter how unique, innovative, creative, or “original” your product, there will always be competition that is vying for your customers. And you know what—that’s a good thing. Competition triggers our will to exist and reminds us that it is truly survival of the fittest.</p>
<p>The key to survival—whether it be in the “real” world or the business world—is to have as much information as possible. Not only about your opponent, but about yourself. That’s where SWOT comes in.</p>
<p>SWOT is an acronym (another handy tool created by man to boost efficiency and increase curability) that stands for Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats.</p>
<p>SWOT provides the guidelines for critically assessing what you’re doing right, what you’re doing wrong, who or what can take you down, and what you can do to get—and stay—ahead of the pack.</p>
<p>And it’s not just Darwin who subscribes to this theory.</p>
<h3>Strengths</h3>
<p><em>“He who knows others is wise. He who knows himself is enlightened.” ~ Lao Tzu</em></p>
<p>In most cases bragging is looked upon as a bad thing. For this exercise it is highly encouraged. It’s important you have a clear recognition of the places where you and your business excel, but not just to give yourself a pat on the back. It’s crucial that you are aware of what you do best. Pediatricians don’t perform heart transplants, Shaquille O’Neal doesn’t shoot three pointers, and Quentin Tarantino doesn’t make G-rated movies. Why? Because they all know what they can do well and play to their strengths.</p>
<p><strong>Key “Strength” Questions</strong></p>
<ul>
<li>What’s the best part of what I do, and what do I do best?</li>
<li>Why do people engage with my product?</li>
<li>What gives me the greatest sense of accomplishment?</li>
</ul>
<h3>Weaknesses</h3>
<p><em>“Our strength grows out of our weaknesses.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson</em></p>
<p>Bad news—you’re not perfect. Good news—that means you can always improve. Better news—the worse you are at something, the more room for improvement! This isn’t a “glass half full” perspective, it’s just the reality of things. Negatives can be turned into positives, but first you need to figure out what they are. Before you start making your list of shortcomings, make sure you’ve got your old pal Honesty by your side and kick Humility out to the curb. There’s no room for excuses, partiality, and beating around the bush. Without a 100% forthright and straightforward audit, you’ll never be able to optimize your business, and more importantly, survive.</p>
<p><strong>Key “Weakness” Questions</strong></p>
<ul>
<li>What can I do better?</li>
<li>In what areas do I receive the most complaints (from consumers or employees)?</li>
<li>Am I spending money on something that isn’t necessary?
<p><strong>Opportunities</strong></li>
<li><em>&#8220;In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.&#8221;  ~ Albert Einstein</em>
<p>Don’t get too discouraged now that you’ve unearthed all the not-so-good things you do. Weaknesses are often what give opportunities the reason to come knock on your door in the first place. One definition of opportunity is “a good position, chance, or prospect, as for advancement or success.” No matter who you are or what you do, there are always opportunities for you to succeed—the trick is to find and take advantage of them.</p>
<p><strong>Key “Opportunity” Questions</strong></p>
<ul>
<li>Is there a particular demographic or market that would like my product that I’m not reaching?</li>
<li>What direction are consumer trends moving, and can I get ahead of the curve?</li>
<li>Can I capitalize on any of my competitions shortcomings?</li>
</ul>
<h3>Threats</h3>
<p><em>“As a goalkeeper you need to be good at organising the people in front of you and motivating them. You need to see what&#8217;s going on and react to the threats. Just like a good manager in business.” ~ Peter Shilton</em></p>
<p>Who would have thought that a World Cup soccer goalie from England would provide such sound advise for CEO’s? Like a penalty kick from Leo Messi, he couldn’t be more dead on. There is another acronym you should remember which will help you to asses your greatest threats and make sure you have the means to thwart them off—RPI:</p>
<p>1. Recognize the threat</p>
<p>2. Plan a course of action</p>
<p>3. Implement your plan</p>
<p>Seems like common sense but you’d be amazed at how many businesses cease to exist because they failed to take the necessary time to follow these steps.</p>
<p><strong>Key “Threat” Questions</strong></p>
<ul>
<li>What “shelf life” do I have for my product to be relevant?</li>
<li>What are the main factors causing my cart abandonement(or churn rate, or negative feedback)?</li>
<li>Is there another company with a similar product that could potentially draw customers away from me?</li>
</ul>
<p>Now that you have tools to abstract the information, the next step is to hunker down and get it. There’s no right or wrong way to compile the data, but the most simple and effective way is with a SWOT 2&#215;2 Matrix:</p>
<table width="100%" border="1" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tbody>
<tr>
<td valign="top">&nbsp;</td>
<td valign="top">Good</td>
<td valign="top">Bad</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td valign="top"> Now</td>
<td valign="top">STRENGTH</td>
<td valign="top">WEAKNESS</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td valign="top">Later</td>
<td valign="top">OPPORTUNITY</td>
<td valign="top">THREAT</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
<p>There are alternative ways to label your boxes, however I would advise against the common practice of substituting “Now” with “Internal” and “Later” with “External”, as those variables do not allow you to seek out opportunities (i.e. team building) and threats(i.e. high employee turnover) within your own company. You can also find a wealth of best practices and templates online—here is one from <a href="http://www.businessballs.com/free_SWOT_analysis_template.pdf" target="_blank">businessballs.com</a> that I find particularly beneficial.</p>
<p>Of course once you’ve got your SWOT all figured out, the next step is to take action upon your findings to ensure you continue to stay afloat. Although there may be some choppy waters ahead, you’d be amazed at how much easier that task will be once you’ve got your course mapped out. And if you don’t believe me, just ask the Father of Modern Science:</p>
<p><em>&#8220;All truths are easy to understand once they are discovered; the point is to discover them.&#8221; ~Galileo</em></p>
<p><em>Please feel free to share some of your own findings and questions that have come from implementing a SWOT analysis with your business or personal life.</em></li>
</ul>
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		<title>40 Hour Week and Construction Productivity</title>
		<link>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/40-hour-week-and-construction-productivity/</link>
		<comments>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/40-hour-week-and-construction-productivity/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 22 Mar 2012 21:44:40 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Nolan Borden</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Blog]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[construction]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[general contractor]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[productivity]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[vertical construction]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.verticalconstruction.com/?p=324</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The &#8220;typical&#8221; workweek is one that has about 40 hours of work. Most employees see anywhere from 10-20% more work hours than this in a typical week. The following article, written by Jessica Stillman, explains why you should cut your work to about 40 hours per week. For many in the entrepreneurship game, long hours [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The &#8220;typical&#8221; workweek is one that has about 40 hours of work. Most employees see anywhere from 10-20% more work hours than this in a typical week. The following article, written by Jessica Stillman, explains why you should cut your work to about 40 hours per week.</p>
<p>For many in the entrepreneurship game, long hours are a badge of honor. Starting a business is tough, so all those late nights show how determined, hard working and serious about making your business work you are, right?<a href="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/Satisfied-Employee.png"><img class="alignright size-medium wp-image-325" src="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/Satisfied-Employee-300x203.png" alt="" width="300" height="203" /></a></p>
<p>Wrong. According to a handful of studies, consistently clocking over 40 hours a week just makes you unproductive (and very, very tired).</p>
<p>That&#8217;s bad news for most workers, who typically put in at least 55 hours a week, <a href="http://www.salon.com/2012/03/14/bring_back_the_40_hour_work_week/">recently wrote Sara Robinson at Salon</a>. Robinson&#8217;s lengthy, but fascinating, article traces <a href="http://www.salon.com/2012/03/14/bring_back_the_40_hour_work_week/">the origins of the idea of the 40-hour week and it&#8217;s downfall</a> and is well worth a read in full. But the essential nugget of wisdom from her article is that working long hours for long periods is not only useless – it&#8217;s actually harmful. She wrote:</p>
<blockquote><p>The most essential thing to know about the 40-hour work-week is that, while it was the unions that pushed it, business leaders ultimately went along with it because their own data convinced them this was a solid, hard-nosed business decision….</p>
<p>Evan Robinson, a software engineer with a long interest in programmer productivity (full disclosure: our shared last name is not a coincidence) summarized this history in a white paper he wrote for the International Game Developers’ Association in 2005. The original paper contains a wealth of links to studies conducted by businesses, universities, industry associations and the military that supported early-20th-century leaders as they embraced the short week. &#8216;Throughout the ’30s, ’40s and ’50s, these studies were apparently conducted by the hundreds,&#8217; writes Robinson; &#8216;and by the 1960s, the benefits of the 40-hour week were accepted almost beyond question in corporate America. In 1962, the Chamber of Commerce even published a pamphlet extolling the productivity gains of reduced hours.&#8217;</p>
<p>What these studies showed, over and over, was that industrial workers have eight good, reliable hours a day in them. On average, you get no more widgets out of a 10-hour day than you do out of an eight-hour day.</p></blockquote>
<p>Robinson does acknowledge that working overtime isn&#8217;t always a bad idea. &#8220;Research by the Business Roundtable in the 1980s found that you could get short-term gains by going to 60- or 70-hour weeks very briefly — for example, pushing extra hard for a few weeks to meet a critical production deadline,&#8221; she wrote. But Robinson stressed that &#8220;increasing a team’s hours in the office by 50 percent (from 40 to 60 hours) does not result in 50 percent more output&#8230;In fact, the numbers may typically be something closer to 25-30 percent more work in 50 percent more time.&#8221;</p>
<p>The clear takeaway here is to stop staying at the office so late, but getting yourself to actually go home on time may be more difficult psychologically than you imagine.</p>
<p>As <a href="http://www.inc.com/jessica-stillman/why-entrepreneurs-have-a-leg-up-in-personal-finances.html">author Laura Vanderkam</a> has pointed out, for many of us, there&#8217;s actually a pretty strong correlation between how busy we are and how important we feel. &#8220;We live in a competitive society, and so by lamenting our overwork and sleep deprivation — even if that requires workweek inflation and claiming our worst nights are typical — we show that we are dedicated to our jobs and our families,&#8221; <a href="http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052970203358704577237603853394654.html">she wrote recently in the <em>Wall Street Journal</em></a>.</p>
<p>Long hours, in other, words are often more about proving something to ourselves than actually getting stuff done.</p>
<p><em>Are your 55+ hour weeks really productive and sustainable? </em></p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>Why Do Contractors Fail?</title>
		<link>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/why-do-contractors-fail/</link>
		<comments>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/why-do-contractors-fail/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 19 Mar 2012 22:09:23 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Nolan Borden</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Blog]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[bond]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[fail]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[general contractors]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[insurance]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[risk]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[vertical construction]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.verticalconstruction.com/?p=318</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Most contractors are well aware that a combination of issues can create problems on any construction project. There could be financial changes in the economy, unforeseen changes in jobsite conditions, a death or illness of a key employee, rising interest rates on a bank loan, oil and materials price increases, subcontractor problems, inclement weather …. [...]]]></description>
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<h3>Most contractors are well aware that a combination of issues can create problems on any construction project.</h3>
<p><img src="http://drupal.constructionbusinessowner.com/sites/default/files/may07riskybuschart.jpg" alt="Average rate of failure" /></p>
<p>There could be financial changes in the economy, unforeseen changes in jobsite conditions, a death or illness of a key employee, rising interest rates on a bank loan, oil and materials price increases, subcontractor problems, inclement weather …. The list goes on and on.</p>
<p>So how can contractors position themselves to handle those risks that cannot be controlled and avoid those risks that can? Many contractors rely on surety underwriters and professional surety bond producers for their vast experience and valuable resources to avoid extreme risks and overcome challenges.</p>
<h2>Risky Business</h2>
<p>Because of the interdependent nature of construction, construction companies have a higher failure rate than many other types of companies. Looking at U.S. Census data from 1989 to 2002, the average rate of failure in the U.S. construction industry is almost 14 percent, while the average rate of failure for all industries is under 12 percent.</p>
<h2>Average Rate of Failure</h2>
<p>Contractor default is an unfortunate and sometimes unavoidable circumstance. According to BizMiner, an industry analysis provider, of the 850,029 non-single family building, heavy/highway, industrial building, warehouses, hotel/motel, multifamily housing and specialty trade contractors operating in 2004, only 649,602 were still in business in 2006—a 23.6 percent failure rate. Construction companies that have been in business less than one year had an even higher failure rate of 36.8 percent.</p>
<p>Even companies that have been in business for fifty years can fail. History has proven that old companies can fail just like new ones, and even good people can experience a business failure.</p>
<p>According to the U.S. Census:</p>
<ul>
<li>-Very small firms (1 to 4 employees) have the highest failure rate</li>
<li>-Firms with 20 to 499 employees have the lowest failure rate</li>
<li>-Firms with 500 or more employees have a failure rate that falls in between the very small and medium firms</li>
</ul>
<h2>Cost of Failure</h2>
<p>So who pays when a contractor fails? On unbonded projects, the taxpayer, construction project owner or lender does. When a project is protected with a performance and payment bond, the surety industry pays for project completion. The Surety &amp; Fidelity Association of America (SFAA) reports that sureties have paid more than $10 billion on contract bond claims since 1992.</p>
<h2>Causes of Failure</h2>
<p>There are many reasons for contractor failure, and they all boil down to risk. Grant Thornton’s report “2005 Surety Credit Survey for Construction Contractors: The Bond Producer’s Perspective” cited low profit margins, followed by slow collections and insufficient capital as the major causes of financial difficulties among contractors. Surety company executives also have named onerous contracts, unreasonable owners, bad or incomplete plans, tight completion schedules, consequential damages, delay damages, and hold-harmless obligations, higher materials prices, and a shortage of qualified and skilled workers as factors that add risk and can ultimately lead to financial difficulties and default.</p>
<p>Additional contractor failure risks include:</p>
<ul>
<li>-Not bonding subcontractors, where the general contractor assumes he or she can  pre-qualify subs and forgo the protection of the bond</li>
<li>-Intangible or uncontrollable work environment issues such as inclement weather, unidentified poor site conditions, inflation, material and equipment shortages, and unexpected economic events such as the Gulf Coast disaster</li>
</ul>
<p>Overexpansion, whether a change in the type or size of work performed or a move into a new geographic area, is another leading cause of contractor failure. Problems with accounting, management, personnel and performance can all turn “good growth” into unrealistic growth. Accounting and financial management problems include:</p>
<ul>
<li>-Inadequate cost tracking systems, debt burden, poor cash management, undercapitalization</li>
<li>-Estimating or procurement problems</li>
<li>-A lack of adequate insurance</li>
<li>-Improper accounting practices (not adhering to the American Institute of CPAs’ Audit Guide for Construction Contractors)</li>
</ul>
<p>The loss of loyal customers is another sign the contractor may be in trouble. When loyal customers look elsewhere, it is a sign of a decreasing reputation for the company’s ability to perform contracts on time and within budget.</p>
<p>When it comes to thriving in today’s booming construction market, it pays to have a good relationship with a professional surety bond producer and surety underwriter. These surety professionals are well-positioned to analyze and manage construction risks because of their close relationship with contractors. These surety professionals can be a contractor’s best ally when problems loom. The most important thing a contractor can do is keep the surety informed when problems arise. Communicate good and bad news to the professional surety bond producer and surety underwriter if or when problems begin. Many surety companies will work with the contractor to help him or her through the problem if possible.</p>
<p>A final word of advice:</p>
<ul>
<li>-Understand the surety’s rights and responsibilities</li>
<li>-Stay within capabilities</li>
<li>-Manage growth and control overhead</li>
<li>-Learn the causes and warning signs of contractor failure</li>
</ul>
</div>
</div>
</div>
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		<title>Create a Construction Organization Chart</title>
		<link>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/create-a-construction-organization-chart/</link>
		<comments>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/create-a-construction-organization-chart/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 14 Mar 2012 21:14:58 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Nolan Borden</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Blog]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[construction organization chart]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[general contractor]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[hiring]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[vertical construction]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.verticalconstruction.com/?p=312</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Many construction businesses reach a certain size and stop growing because the owners try to do too much work themselves. They have a difficult time delegating and deciding who to hire. Companies cannot grow if the owner makes every decision about scheduling crews, ordering materials, buying equipment, meeting with customers, deciding which vendor or subcontractor [...]]]></description>
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<div>
<p>Many construction businesses reach a certain size and stop growing because the owners try to do too much work themselves. They have a difficult time delegating and deciding who to hire.</p>
<p>Companies cannot grow if the owner makes every decision about scheduling crews, ordering materials, buying equipment, meeting with customers, deciding which vendor or subcontractor to use, approving change orders, completing every cost estimate, determining the final markup on bids, presenting every proposal, reviewing every contract, approving all invoices, determining employee salaries, etc. You get the idea: You must allow employees to take on responsibilities and do their jobs to build your business.</p>
<h2>Hire Smart Construction Managers</h2>
<p>When business owners finally make the big decision to hire an experienced manager with a strong resumé, they often decide to move someone from within the company into this key position, even if the person has little or no experience in this area. After trying this approach for a short time without any luck, they resort to hiring a low-paid assistant, untrained field supervisor, junior project manager or an estimator with little experience. Some owners make a bigger mistake than this by hiring a relative or family friend who is out of work.</p>
<p>Business owners tend to make these poor hiring decisions to save money or avoid the time required to hire and pay for the perfect employee or manager. They hope this easy, less expensive approach will work out.</p>
<p>However, if you hire untrained people with little or no senior management experience because they are inexpensive, you will spend all your time answering their questions.</p>
<div>
<div>
<div>
<h2>Design Your Chart<a href="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/300px-Blank_org_chart.jpg"><img class="alignright size-medium wp-image-313" src="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/300px-Blank_org_chart-254x300.jpg" alt="" width="254" height="300" /></a></h2>
<p>Most construction organizational charts show who reports to each manager, but they often do not list each person responsible for each area of the business and the tasks required to achieve the company&#8217;s strategic goals.</p>
<p>To organize your construction company, draft an organizational chart by listing on a flip chart all the tasks that have to be accomplished in your company. Use these headings across the top of your chart:</p>
<p>-Business Development</p>
<p>-Operations</p>
<p>-Finance</p>
<p>-Administration</p>
<p>-Management</p>
<p>Then, use a sticky note for each function required in your business. After brainstorming and completing this exercise, post these tasks beneath the headings in logical order.</p>
<p>For example, business development should be the project manager&#8217;s responsibility. A full-charge project manager handles procurement, negotiating subcontracts and purchase orders, writing contracts, project documentation, correspondence, customer meetings, change order management, preparing and updating job budgets, approving and updating job schedules, drafting progress payments, approving invoices, meeting contract requirements, achieving the job profit goal, meeting the project schedule goal, gaining customer satisfaction and many other responsibilities.</p>
<h2>Delegate Responsibilities</h2>
<p>After you complete the chart, assign employees to be responsible for each of the work tasks listed. This can be tricky. For instance, if you allow your project manager to draft the subcontracts but not make the final decision on the price or subcontractors without checking with you first, then this task needs to be broken down into two or three parts to show who will be responsible: draft contract, approve subcontractor and negotiate final contract amount.</p>
<p>On the accountability chart, assign the person who will be in charge of each business function.</p>
<h2>Determine Your Role</h2>
<p>After determining who will be responsible for each area, decide which areas you should be responsible for based on what you do best and what will help deliver the highest return on your time.</p>
<p>Almost always, the company owner should stay involved with the business development function. By deciding what you should do, you can then create a new job description and management position for someone to take over other responsibilities and decisions you previously handled.</p>
<p>Hire based on what you need to grow your company, not what will help you save the most money. If you take a risk on paying more than you are comfortable with, you may be surprised how well things turn out in the future.</p>
<h2><strong>Try This </strong></h2>
<p>To organize your company, draft an organizational chart by listing on a flip chart all the tasks and jobs that have to be accomplished in your company. Use these headings across the top of your chart:</p>
<p>·         -Business Development</p>
<p>·         -Operations</p>
<p>·         -Finance</p>
<p>·         -Administration</p>
<p>·         -Management</p>
</div>
</div>
</div>
</div>
</div>
</div>
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		<title>Mobile Timecards: Construction Software</title>
		<link>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/mobile-timecards-construction-software/</link>
		<comments>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/mobile-timecards-construction-software/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 12 Mar 2012 22:13:29 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Nolan Borden</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Blog]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[construction]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[construction software]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[general contractor]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile timecards]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[vertical construction]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.verticalconstruction.com/?p=308</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Like any business, construction companies always want to find a way to cut costs and win business. Deploying a mobile timecard system and GPS tracking solution provides one way to do this. Mobile timecards increase worker productivity, decrease employee time-theft, improve efficiency and increase profits by saving on daily costs such as fuel, overtime and [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<div>
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<p>Like any business, construction companies always want to find a way to cut costs and win business. Deploying a mobile timecard system and GPS tracking solution provides one way to do this.</p>
<p>Mobile timecards increase worker productivity, decrease employee time-theft, improve efficiency and increase profits by saving on daily costs such as fuel, overtime and administration.</p>
<p>They also can be easily integrated into numerous accounting and software systems, which makes payroll and record-keeping a much more efficient and streamlined process.</p>
<h2>How Mobile Timecards Work<a href="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/83402.jpg"><img class="alignright size-full wp-image-309" src="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/83402.jpg" alt="" width="275" height="276" /></a></h2>
<p>Mobile timecard applications can work on a variety of cell phones and tablets. Be cautious of Web-based timecard products because they tend to duplicate data entries and lose information collected by employees if the device loses reception. Look for mobile timecard systems that can be built into devices. This ensures that information will be stored even if field workers lose reception. Employees can capture data by pushing a button or clicking a dropdown screen on their wireless devices. This information will be forwarded over the carrier&#8217;s network to a server in a secured location generally required by the wireless carrier. Company administrators can then view the information in real-time through a login and password-protected portal.</p>
<h2>Construction field workers can log the following data from a hand-held device:</h2>
<p>-Time</p>
<p>-Attendance</p>
<p>-Jobs, tasks and sub-tasks</p>
<p>-Cost codes</p>
<p>-Lunch and other breaks</p>
<p>-Custom fields (weather issues, injuries, etc.)</p>
<p>-Team clock-in (multiple workers using one device)</p>
<p>-Dispatched work orders</p>
<p>-Inventory</p>
<p>-Job progress</p>
<div>
<div>
<div>
<h2>Management can view real-time job information, including:</h2>
<p>-GPS tracking information</p>
<p>-Bread crumb trails (speed, direction)</p>
<p>-Speed triggers</p>
<p>-Mileage and idle time</p>
<p>-GPS smart fence technology</p>
<p>-Time and attendance reports</p>
<p>-Inventory</p>
<p>-Dispatched work orders</p>
<p>-Overtime hours</p>
<p>-Required breaks</p>
<p>-Current payroll hours</p>
<p>-Hours spent on tasks (framing, electrical, grading, etc.)</p>
<p>Some mobile timecard applications offer more than 20 custom reports and store all data for a six-month period, including GPS tracking information. A few solutions offer a Web-user login capability for internal workers.</p>
<h2>Documentation for Compliance</h2>
<p>Both state and federal labor laws require accurate and tedious record-keeping for all non-exempt employees concerning a variety of work issues including hours worked, mandated lunch periods and breaks taken.</p>
<p>Employers, especially those who employ mobile workers, find it increasingly difficult and time-consuming to comply with these laws, and they sometimes find themselves at a disadvantage when responding to individual claims, class action lawsuits and audits conducted by the U.S. Department of Labor and/or state administrative law enforcement agencies.</p>
<p>Wireless providers now offer mobile timecards, a mobile phone application that allows employees to log time, attendance and other job information through a mobile timesheet directly from their wireless phones. With new employee location capabilities using GPS tracking (including smart fencing technology) mobile timecards also provide employers with documentation showing where their mobile workers are located at any given time throughout their workdays, when they begin and conclude their work time  and when and where they take lunches and rest periods.</p>
<p>California and a growing number of other states continue to enforce tough legislation against employers regarding wage-hour law violations. Employers with mobile workforces must be sure they have accurate employee work-time records, and they should also be able to produce these records in any legal proceeding. The records must show hours worked and meal and rest periods taken by employees.</p>
<p>Michael Procopio, a Santa Ana, Calif.-based veteran attorney specializing in labor and employment law, says, “When it comes to federal and state record keeping requirements, the burden is on employers to document both the hours worked by their employees and the lunches and breaks taken by them.”</p>
<p>Also, according to the law, employers cannot require employees to sign general waivers that would release employers from paying for work done during meal or break times and during overtime.</p>
<p>“Employers throughout California&#8211;and even those based in other states who have employees performing work in the state&#8211;are governed by California&#8217;s wage-hour laws, which are among the strictest in the country,” says Procopio. He adds that both federal and state record-keeping statutes have required documentation of hours worked for many years, and these agencies have increased enforcement efforts considerably in recent years.</p>
<p>Most employers have traditionally complied with these legal requirements by using time clocks and sign-in/sign-out sheets. These procedures have sufficed in situations where employees work at fixed locations, but they have in many cases failed in workplace settings involving mobile employees, such as heavy equipment operators and construction workers.</p>
<p>With GPS tracking capabilities, mobile timecards make it possible to meet these compliance standards.</p>
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		<title>PlanGrid: New Software for the Construction Industry</title>
		<link>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/plangrid-new-software-for-the-construction-industry/</link>
		<comments>http://www.verticalconstruction.com/blog/plangrid-new-software-for-the-construction-industry/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 06 Mar 2012 22:57:11 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Nolan Borden</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Blog]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[construction industry]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[general contractor]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[plan reading software]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PlanGrid]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[software]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[vertical construction]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.verticalconstruction.com/?p=297</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The article below is from techcrunch.com. The article details one of the newest and most innovative apps in the construction industry. The greatest part about the app is that it offers 3 levels of use, offering something to contractors of every size. Read below to learn more. Mark this up as one more crucial chapter [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The article below is from techcrunch.com. The article details one of the newest and most innovative apps in the construction industry. The greatest part about the app is that it offers 3 levels of use, offering something to contractors of every size. Read below to learn more.</p>
<p>Mark this up as one more crucial chapter in the much-thumbed book called “The Consumerization of IT”: a new app has launched from a Y Combinator-backed startup that offers builders the ability to store, manage and view blueprints on and iPad tablet.<a href="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/drawing_shot.png"><img class="alignright size-medium wp-image-299" src="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/drawing_shot-231x300.png" alt="" width="231" height="300" /></a></p>
<p>The unique selling point for <a href="http://www.plangrid.com/">PlanGrid</a>, as the app is called, is that it promises to present building blueprints in a far more efficient way than they have been presented before.</p>
<p>But on a more general level, PlanGrid is a sign of how the iOS platform is maturing and attracting a new wave of developers who target specific enterprise verticals with solutions tailored to their business needs.</p>
<p>Ryan Sutton-Gee, one of the four co-founders and now CEO of Loupe, the company that makes the app, comes from a construction background himself and says the costs and frustrations of dealing with paper-based plans are what drove him to want to rethink how things were done.</p>
<p>The fact that his immediate world — he is based in Silicon Valley and is a Stanford grad — is so focused on Apple and apps made it a no-brainer that this would somehow figure in the solution.</p>
<p>And the other three co-founders fit neatly into what this app is bringing to the table: expertise in construction; visual design skills and cloud computing prowess. Tracy Young, the COO, also had worked in construction; while Ralph Gootee, the CTO, came from animation studio Pixar; and Kenny Stone, VP of engineering, had worked as a trading programmer. (It’s Stone who is now responsible for all the cloud-based storage and delivery of users’ documents.)</p>
<p><strong><a href="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/drawing-small.png"><img class="alignleft size-full wp-image-302" src="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/drawing-small.png" alt="" width="289" height="289" /></a>How it works</strong>. PlanGrid is a cloud-based service that delivers blueprints as PDFs directly on the tablet; then people working in the field can use these instead of paper-based versions. When a modification needs to be made, that can be directly noted on the plan, in the app. That is subsequently updated into a new version. PlanGrid’s technology makes the rendering and scrolling of those blueprints significantly faster, too.</p>
<p>PlanGrid claims that because it is easy to send out and use updated blueprints, this can help reduce the need for rework and other fixes. Typically, 6% of rework is due to outdated blueprints, and in turn around 15% of construction costs are due to rework, which means 1% of total construction costs are due to the blueprint problem. Those are significant figures, considering that an average margin that a builder could expect to make is only between two percent and four percent.</p>
<p>PlanGrid also claims that at its most basic level this app could eliminate the heavy printing costs associated with those building projects: typically for every $1,000,000 in building costs, there are $3,500 of printing costs.</p>
<p>And in contrast to many consumer-focused startups, this one has a pricing model from the word go: users can choose from a low-page-count free version, or pay $19.99 or $49.99 per month for either 550 or 5,000 sheets.</p>
<p>Unlike some enterprise verticals, construction is not one that has a natural need for all employees to own laptops, smartphones and tablets. “Whereas people in some businesses spend 10 hours in front of a computer, someone in the construction industry would spend one hour,” Sutton-Gee said.<a href="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/drawing-again.png"><img class="alignright size-medium wp-image-304" src="http://www.verticalconstruction.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/drawing-again-300x149.png" alt="" width="300" height="149" /></a></p>
<p>That sounds like it would pose a challenge for the business — why buy an app if you don’t even have the device to use it? But Sutton-Gee claims that in fact what the app has done in its early days of sales is drive more purchases of the iPad by those in the construction industry — just so that they could use PlanGrid. “We’re a big enough solution to the problem they are facing that they’re buying those tablets to use the app,” he says.</p>
<p>Looking ahead, Sutton-Gee says that the company has a lot more ideas for how to expand its construction services — for example linking up the whole chain from architectural designs, to the technical drawings and the final blueprints that are used to actually construct a building. That, he says, could be a massive help when a company is trying to figure out where a building project has leaked money, gone over budget or fallen down altogether.</p>
<p>You can download the app <a href="http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/plangrid/id498795789?mt=8">here</a>.</p>
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